Remembrance of things past…

Posted: July 28, 2010 by shopfrontcontemporaryarts in under fifteen
Tags: , ,

[Transcript of unbroadcast radio interview conducted with Audrey Hampton outside of [redacted] processing centre]

It was a big white room in a medical centre out in [redacted]. I had to put on this white suit and had to have a shower before with this awful green disinfectant. It was horrible.

They sat me down in this chair in front of a glass window and I must have been waiting for over half an hour. When the shutter started to rise I could see Michael centimetre by centimetre. I peeked under to see him as fast as I could.

He was…well, at first I couldn’t recognise him. I think he noticed, but he didn’t say anything. I wish I had been able to hide my reaction. After all he had been through.

He was thin. Really thin and wearing this white smock. They had shaved off his beautiful hair.

Sorry…

He smiled and a tear rolled down his cheek. I pushed up against the cold glass. I just wanted to hug him. I wanted to take him home and put him in our bed and look after him and kiss him. He said he loved me, that he thought about me all day. His voice was tinny through the speaker.

He said he was remembering things. You know…from when he had…changed.

I didn’t know what to say. I told him my Dad had been fishing that weekend in the new boat.

Audrey Hampton

Interview

image credit

Leave a Reply

